Day 29 : Sarah, Put Down the Hedgehog

Sarah:

Wake up> Breakfast> Make lunch>
Corinne got really excited after we went shopping for groceries the other day since she has been wanting mayo on her sandwich since we started making them. A few seconds later she realized that we would be having tuna sandwiches for the next few days. Flash forward to today: Corinne puts mayo on top of her tuna.

Charlottenburg Palace. We went there, wandered the grounds, and hopped back on the bus within 2 hours. At first we were all a little underwhelmed, but the gardens turned out to be really beautiful. So beautiful, in fact, that we took a picture in front of the palace, a picture in front of the fountain in front of the palace, and a picture on a bridge in front of the fountain in front of the palace.

We were going to get a picture in front of the bridge in front of the fountain in front of the palace, but the person we asked for help didn’t actually know how to use a camera and thus we lost the fourth layer of our photos. Oh well, at least we found an obelisk. Finally. We’ve been looking for that thing since Warsaw.

After the palace we wandered along Tiergarten, and checked out Potsdamer Platz. We played on some outdoor spinny chairs (I won the spinning contest) and then went into Matthaus Church and wandered around a bit, eventually finding our way to….a tower!!! So of course we climbed it. The view from the top was pretty good. We stayed up there for a while and decided to head down. I opened the door, and just before we all left, I pointed to a building and said something about how I liked it because it was special looking. Just then, the bell rang, catching us all of guard. I immediately shut the door, Corinne started to hyperventilate, and none of us could breathe because of the fits of laughter that completely consumed us. While Corinne and I were in shock, Rosie was apparently not afraid at all…sure.

Afterwards, we went into a few museums but didn’t see any exhibits since they were not free for a few more hours. To kill time until 6pm we went to look for a restaurant. This is usually the hardest thing to find, not matter where we are, and today proved no different. After settling on a place, we each got meals consisting of some combination of sausage, potatoes, and in my case, eggs. It was really good and both Rosie’s dinner and my dinner came in little frying pans on plates. So cute.

I also make friends with a bird.

By the time we finished, it was past 6pm so we headed over to museum island to check out the free exhibits. Our first stop was the museum that had an exhibit on the 7 wonders of the world. Unfortunately, this “special exhibit” was not free. Not wanting to miss the other museums, we moved on. We saw an exhibit in another Museum about Egypt. It was pretty cool. We saw the bust of Nefertiti and Rosie decided that is was nothing special. We browsed the gift shop afterwards and I found lots of items with a cute little hippo sculpture pictured on them. Then I saw a postcard with an adorable hedgehog sculpture on it, which Rosie told me to put down (yay, title explanation). Afterwards we moved on to a museum that had german art in it. It was nothing special, but it did have a few pieces by Cezanne, Monet, Manet, and some other famous artists. By the time we left that museum it was 9pm. Instead of visiting one more museum, we killed time on the grass doing bad cartwheels and awkward somersaults. We also split another cucumber and practiced our secret handshake/3 way high five.

Walk to find a subway station> Stop to watch the Euro cup (Spain beats Russia 3-0)> get back to the hostel > hang out > the end 🙂

Nope, just kidding. After I finished this, a bunch of people came out into the lounge. One guy from Britain said “hola” to me. Not the first person I’ve met who assumed I could speak Spanish. I feel stereotyped and all that. The next person we met was some guy from Canada who, according to Rosie, was “on something.” Here are the awesome conversation starters he had in his small talk arsenal:

1) Do you like George Bush?
2) Are you religious? (Follow up to Corinne’s yes: Do you think people were around at the same time as dinosaurs?)
3) Do you think the US is the greatest country in the world?
4) Can I use you computer for 30 minutes for a Euro?

Needless to say, least favorite person of the trip. Luckily, he went to go bother the people from New Jersy.

Finally, we met someone from….CMU!! How cool, right? She graduated from the drama program and we’re convinced that she is Mimi in the future. Her are the facts:

  1. She went to CMU
  2. She speaks exactly like Mimi
  3. She looks kind of like her
  4. She is from LA

the real end.

2 Comments

Filed under Germany, Sarah

2 responses to “Day 29 : Sarah, Put Down the Hedgehog

  1. Hi, this is Dewie again, Mitch is no longer reading this blog because Rosie insulted him in an email. I think, though, that if Rosie wanted to get back on his good side, she could bring back a kilo or two of Belgian chocolates. And provide the flight information so he could decide whether to pick her up at the airport. Oh, one more thing. He is a little forgetful sometimes, so perhaps you should remind him to bring Sarah’s suitcase and the dress with the dots.

    Regarding Rosie’s comment in that email about my father.

    I never knew my father. He left my mother and me before I was born. In fact, I only knew my mother for five weeks before I left home to find a family that needed shoes chewed. Your family’s collection certainly kept me busy. I hope that Eva appreciated the effort I went into to pry her door open in order to help reconfigure her shoes.

    Anyhow, I do remember my mom talking about a German Shepard, so I always assumed he was my dad.

    People here in Larchmont have speculated that my father was a dachshund. But I refuse to acknowledge that my dad was a walking wiener. I mean, how would you feel if I told you that your dad is a Physics dud. Let’s stop insulting each others’ dads. I’ll agree to your dad’s superior intelligence and sense of humor if you admit that mine was probably a German Shepard.

    I see you visited a museum with German art. I hope you followed my advice from the last entry.

    Can’t wait to see you, but it’s a long walk from JFK if you don’t let your dad know your flight info.

    — Dewie

  2. Dana

    Hey guys! I got your postcard today! Thank you!!!

Leave a comment