Day 32 : Drinking Alone with People

Today was our only full day in Belgium, since, I’m not sure if you know this but, we missed our flight two days ago. It started off very strangely since Corinne, who is usually the one to wake us up, decided to ignore her phone and sleep in. Of course, I’m not complaining, but still…it was weird. Anyway, we went down stairs and had the best breakfast we’ve had in about 4 weeks. We had some pastries and these really delicious rolls with cheese. I’m not really sure how rolls can be so good, but they were.

Afterwards, we went to Lier (leer) and walked around for a bit. Lier was really peaceful and cute. It had cobble stone street in part of it and some really cool churches. One of them had four figures that moved and struck bells on the hour and then showed pictures of some of Belgium’s kings. We also saw a beautiful church in Antwerp which Karen’s mom described as small…it was not, but is was pretty.

Here is a quick list of the things we did in Antwerp (not in order): went shopping (Rosie bought a pretty dress), ate delicious waffles, went inside a pretty building, had hot chocolate/tea at a café where I sneakily stole some sugar with the help of Corinne’s bag and a very convincing stretch/yawn on my part, and bought tons of chocolate.

After we came back to Karen’s house, we walked into town and got fries for dinner. Beforehand we were all thinking, “fries? for dinner?”. Then we learned how filling fries are, especially when they come with meat and sauce and are delicious. Also, there were these litle plastic forks to eat the fries with and they were adorable.

After dinner, we walked back, relaxed in our room for a little while, and then went down stairs to watch the EuroCup finals (Spain won! yay!). So yesterday, I found an abandoned German flag colored lei in the bathroom at the airport and I took it as a souvenir. Today, Corinne wore it for the second part of the game, but it did not help Germany win. Meanwhile, we all ate more chocolate and cookies and Corinne had some Belgian beer, because apparently it is better than American beer. Rosie and I had water, thus Corinne was drinking alone with people.

After the game, we were all tired so we went back upstairs and talked about our plans for London. Rosie had the best hot chocolate of her life in London so of course we are going to go there. We were all very disappointed in Corinne’s inability to navegate the Chocolate Bar’s web page. So far our plan for tomorrow includes getting hot chocolate, visiting platform nine and three quarters at King’s Cross, and seeing Buckingham Palace. Corinne wants to harass the guards, but I’ve always felt bad for them because people do that and because that job must be boring. I realy want to do something nice for them, so we might read them a story or something to keep them entertained. Rosie suggested we make one up about a young boy named Guard, but we haven’t decided whether that would end up being harassing behavior or not. We might also get tea and hang out in front of the palace. All I know is that if Corinne makes me learn anything, I’m going AWOL and taking Rosie with me.

K, so no pictures, obviously, and I’m not going to pretend that there will ever be any. Way to end it on a high note, I know. (Yay! Pictures now!)

1 Comment

Filed under Belgium, Sarah

One response to “Day 32 : Drinking Alone with People

  1. While you’re in London, can you answer one question for me? If a dog chases a car in England, what side of the car does he run on?

    I have a bet with Gracie (my Gracie, not Rosie’s). If I lose, I have to give her a tennis ball.

    Things here are pretty boring. No one is letting my chase any squirrels. I don’t get to see any nice buildings. And they won’t let me even smell chocolate.

    But, at least I haven’t missed any flights!

    — Dewey

Leave a comment